Coming Back To Me by Caroline Leavitt

September 20, 2003
Written by

Explore More

 

Coming Back To Me
Caroline Leavitt

St. Martin's Griffin
September 20, 2003
Trade Paperback/320 pages
ISBN: 0-312-26937-4
Buy This Book
http://www.amazon.com

 

"Caroline Leavitt's gorgeous mainstream novel woos the reader with beautiful language and a compelling, poignant story."

"Fans of Elizabeth Berg and Kaye Gibbons will easily slip into Leavitt's narrative."

". . . an unforgettable tale with flawed and wonderful characters."

Coming Back to Me, Caroline Leavitt''s gorgeous mainstream novel, woos the reader with beautiful language and a compelling, poignant story. Fans of Elizabeth Berg and Kaye Gibbons will easily slip into Leavitt''s narrative about the redemptive power of love.

 

Gary and Molly survive broken families to grow up resilient, intelligent, and ultimately, alone. A chance meeting in a diner becomes a moment saturated with sparks, a true love at first sight.

In a city of strangers, they find each other and connect, heart and soul. Their relationship quickly evolves into marriage, then a pregnancy. The couple exults in this newfound version of family, their hope and joy palpable in the pages.

When Molly suffers severe complications after the baby''s birth and falls into a comatose state, Gary''s life also hangs by a thread. Now forced to cope as a single father with hospital bills mounting by the thousands, he calls for help from Molly''s estranged, wild sister, Suzanne.

Leavitt has created an unforgettable tale with flawed and wonderful characters. Through Gary, Molly, Suzanne, and baby Otis, Coming Back to Me gently probes the meaning of family and loyalty with an unflinching, yet compassionate gaze.

It''s the kind of book where a reader measures remaining chapters, not wanting the story to end. But end it does, with a moving scene that perfectly weaves Leavitt''s themes of relationship and redemption, and makes readers thankful for the journey.
Reviewer: M. K. Daniels

 

Categorised in:

This post was written by Editorial Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *