Ellen Birkett Morris

Ellen Birkett Morris is an award-winning journalist whose interviews and reviews have appeared in Authorlink, Prairie Schooner Online, The Louisville Courier-Journal, and reprinted in the reader’s guides to The Receptionist and Clever Girl.

Congratulations to our own Authorlink Columnist Ellen Birkett Morris. Her novel, “Beware the Tall Grass,” has been chosen by Lan Samantha Chang as the winner of this year’s Donald L. Jordan Prize for Literary Excellence. DLJ Books will publish the novel in spring, 2024.

This year’s finalists (alphabetically) for the Donald L. Jordan Prize for Literary Excellence are
1. Stone of Heaven, a novel by Lucy Ferriss
2. Dear Second Husband, stories by Susan Finch
3. The Wire Walker, a novel by James Janko
4. Sunny’s Choices, a novel by Zhaojin Ke
5. Beware the Tall Grass, a novel by Ellen Burkett Morris
6. The Murmur of Everything, a memoir by Maureen P. Stanton
The Jordan Prize carries a $10,000 cash award and a publication contract with Columbus State University Press (CSU). DLJ Books is an imprint of CSU.