October 23 – October 30, 2008 Edition

Indy Booksellers
Honor Wambaugh
At Annual Show

LOS ANGELES, CA (Authorlink News/10/23/08)-Joseph Wambaugh, well-known author of fictional police novels as well as nonfiction, received The T. Jefferson Parker Mystery Award, sponsored by The Southern California Booksellers Association last Saturday as a highlight of the Association’s annual trade show in Los Angeles.

Wambaugh was honored in an emotional acceptance for his novel Hollywood Crows (Little, Brown & Co., March 2008). Wambaugh thanked the Independent Booksellers and said he considers the award very special. “Honest to God,” he told the audience, “I really appreciate this.” Wambaugh’s unique perspective on the realities of police work led to his first novel, The New Centurions, which was published early in 1971 to critical acclaim. The success of the early books happened while Wambaugh was still working as a real-life detective.

Many of his books were made into feature films or TV-movies during the 70s and 80s. Wambaugh was also involved with creating/developing the NBC series Police Story, which ran from 1973 to 1977, and in the production of the acclaimed film versions of The Onion Field (1979) and The Black Marble (1980), both directed by Harold Becker. In 1981, he won an Edgar Award from the Mystery Writers of America for his screenplay for the latter film.

Among the authors in attendance at the awards ceremony were Jan Burke, Debra Ginsburg, Cheryl Crane, Jamie Lee Curtis, Jonathan Kirsch, Marisa Silver, Jerry Stahl and Robert Crais. Othe Association awards were given to Jeanne Kelley for nonfiction (Blue Eggs and Yellow Tomatoes, Running Press), Dean Lorey for children’s novel (Nightmare Academy, HarperCollins), Dan Hanna for children’s picture book (The Pout-Pout Fish, FSG), and David Benioff for fiction (City of Thieves, Penguin).

Though attendance figures have not yet been released, the annual trade show, last regional bookseller event of the year, drew a healthy attendance by booksellers.

Finalists for the Parker award were:

An Incomplete Revenge, by Jacqueline Winspear (Picador)

Chasing Darkness , by Robert Crais (Simon & Schuster)

Hollywood Crows, by Joseph Wambaugh (Little, Brown & Co.)

Judas Horse, by April Smith (Knopf)

Oscar Season , by Mary McNamara (Simon & Schuster)

Snitch Jacket, by Christopher Goffard (Overlook/Rookery)

Finalists for fiction were:

City of Thieves, by David Benioff (Penguin)

Imagine Me and You, by Billy Mernit (Shaye Arehart Books)

The God of War, by Marisa Silver (Simon & Schuster)

Harry, Revised, by Mark Sarvas (Bloomsbury)

Winged Creatures, by Roy Freirich (St. Martin’s Griffin)

Nonfiction finalists include:

All the Saints of the City of Angels , by J. Michael Walker (Heyday)

Big Daddy , by Bill Boyarsky (University of California Press)

Blue Eggs and Yellow Tomatoes , by Jeanne Kelley (Running Press)

Cancer on $5 a Day , by Robert Schimmel (De Capo Press)

Hometown Santa Monica , edited by Colleen Dunn Bates (Prospect Park Books)

Children’s Novels:

Nightmare Academy , by Dean Lorey (HarperCollins)

Pendragon Book Nine : Raven Rise, by D.J. MacHale (Simon & Schuster)

The Adoration of Jenna Fox , by Mary E. Pearson (Henry Holt and Company)

The Buddha’s Diamonds , by Carolyn Marsden (Candlewick Press)

The Hour of the Outlaw , by Maiya Williams (Amulet Books)

Children’s Picture Books:

Not a Stick , by Antoinette Portis (HarperCollins)

Our California , by Pam Munoz Ryan and illustrated by Rafael Lopez (Charlesbridge Publishing)

If Animals Kissed Good Night , by Ann Whitford Paul (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Pout – Pout Fish , by Dan Hanna (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

We Are The Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball , by Kadir Nelson (Hyperion)

All of the finalists are Southern California authors. To be eligible for the annual book awards, writers must live in the region, from Morro Bay south to Mexican border.