WASHINGTON – The International Women’s Media Foundation is seeking nominations for its three annual awards: the 2016 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award, the Courage in Journalism Awards, and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award celebrates women photographers whose work demonstrates bravery, dedication, and skill while reporting the news through images. The Award honors the courage of Anja Niedringhaus, Pulitzer prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage Award winner who was killed while on assignment in Afghanistan in 2014.

The first annual Niedringhaus Award was given in 2015 to freelance photographer Heidi Levine in Berlin. The 2016 ceremony will be held in June in Washington, D.C.

Nominations for the 2016 Anja Neidringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award must be submitted by Friday, February 12, 2016.

The Courage Awards recognize women journalists who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances such as government oppression, threats to personal safety, and other intimidating obstacles. And the Lifetime Achievement Award honors women journalists who have a pioneering spirit and whose accomplishments have paved the way for future generations of women in the media.

Previous Courage in Journalism Award winners include Khadija Ismayilova of Azerbaijan, Arwa Damon of the U.S.; Adela Navarro Bello of Mexico; and Anna Politkovskaya of Russia (d. 2006).

Previous Lifetime Achievement Award winners include Zubeida Mustafa of Pakistan; Kate Adie of the Untied Kingdom; and Barbara Walters of the United States.

Now in their 27th year, the Courage and Lifetime Awards are celebrated annually in October in New York and Los Angeles.

Courage and Lifetime Award nominations must be submitted by Friday, February 26, 2016.

Candidates for the Niedringhaus Photojournalism and Courage in Journalism Awards must be staff or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers, or producers working in any country. Lifetime Achievement Award candidates can be either working or retired woman journalists.

Online nomination form for the 2016 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award

Online nomination form for the 2016 Courage in Journalism Awards or the Lifetime Achievement Award

For more information about the IWMF and these Awards, please visit


For 25 years, the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) has been dedicated to strengthening the role of women journalists worldwide. The media is not truly free and representative without the equal voice of women. Our work celebrates the courage of women journalists who overcome threats and oppression to report and bear witness to global issues. Through our programs and grants we empower women journalists with the training, opportunities, and support to become leaders in the news industry.