Entries Open for Hillman Journalism Prizes


Annual Prizes Honor Excellence in Journalism in Service of the Common Good  

NEW YORK- The Sidney Hillman Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Hillman Prizes honoring excellence in investigative journalism and commentary.

The Hillman Prizes celebrate reporting that highlights social or economic injustice and hopefully leads to meaningful public policy change.

Winning entries will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Significance of journalism in service of the common good
  • Resourcefulness and courage in reporting
  • Skill in relating the story and impact of the coverage

The 2019 Hillman Prizes will be awarded in the following categories:

  • Book (nonfiction)
  • Newspaper Reporting (print or online)
  • Magazine Reporting (print or online)
  • Broadcast Journalism (story/series/documentary at least 20 minutes in total package length that has aired on television, radio or podcast)
  • Web Journalism (story/series that appeared online but not in print) Open to blogs, photojournalism, and other multimedia projects as well as text.
  • Opinion & Analysis Journalism (commentary and analysis in any medium)


Entries must be published or broadcast in 2018 and have been made widely available to a U.S audience. Nominated material and a cover letter can be entered hereThere is no fee to enter.

Winners will be awarded travel to New York City, a certificate designed by New Yorkercartoonist, Edward Sorel, and a $5,000 prize.


January 30, 2019 – Deadline for entry
Late-April, 2019 – Winners announced
May 7, 2019 – Winners honored at Hillman Prize ceremony – New York City


The Hillman Prize judges are: Ta-Nehisi Coates, bestselling author and former national correspondent, The AtlanticJelani Cobb, staff writer, The New Yorker; Alix Freedman, Global Editor, Ethics and Standards, ReutersHendrik Hertzberg, staff writer, The New Yorker; Harold Meyerson, executive editor, The American Prospect; and Katrina vanden Heuvel, editor and publisher, The Nation.

See previous winners here.

“Each year we eagerly anticipate the outstanding entries we receive from local and national media across the country,” said Alexandra Lescaze, Executive Director of The Sidney Hillman Foundation. “It is heartening to know that regardless of political or financial constraints, journalists continue to ask difficult questions, expose injustice, and play an integral role in making this country more equitable and more accountable to its citizens.”

Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has honored journalists, writers and public figures who pursue investigative journalism and public policy for the common good. Sidney Hillman was the founding president of the Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union of America, a predecessor union of Workers United, SEIU. An architect of the New Deal, Hillman fought to build a vibrant union movement extending beyond the shop floor to all aspects of working peoples’ lives.