The American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) has opened entries for its 2022 writing awards competition.  The deadline for submissions is February 9, 2022.

The annual awards program highlights stellar nonfiction articles, essays, books, and content marketing writing in a variety of categories. Check out last year’s winners here.

While some awards are offered only to members, others are open to all freelance writers, regardless of membership. Nominations may be made by the authors themselves or by someone else. All entries must be published by a freelance, nonfiction writer in the calendar year preceding the award year.

ASJA’s award season is generally held each winter and spring. Nominations usually open in January and close in February. Judges consider entries through early spring, and the announcement of winners often coincides with ASJA’s annual conference in mid-spring.

Awards Categories

Open to all freelance writers:

The Arlenes: Articles That Make a Difference

The Donald Robinson Memorial Award for Investigative Journalism

Outstanding Article Awards

Outstanding Book Awards

Outstanding Content Awards

The Awards rules are here. Descriptions of the awards categories are here. When you’re ready to enter, click here.