NEW YORK (April 22, 2013) – Michael Rapoport, The Wall Street Journal’s accounting reporter since 2010, will be the keynote speaker at the 30th annual Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards Tuesday April 30 in New York.

The awards, sponsored by the New York State Society of CPAs (NYSSCPA), honor reporters from both national and local New York-area media outlets whose work , published or broadcast in 2012, contributes to a better understanding of business and financial topics.

Rapoport writes about a wide variety of issues related to accounting, including accounting standards, auditing, finance and accounting fraud. Before coming to the Journal, he wrote the "In the Money" column for Dow Jones Newswires focusing on in-depth reporting of financial statements and market developments.

A reporter for more than 25 years, Rapoport has won a number of awards, including an Excellence in Financial Journalism Award from the NYSSCPA in 2009. His other awards include a National Headliner Award, a Society of American Business Editors and Writers "Best in Business" Award and a World Leadership Forum "Business Journalists of the Year" Award. In 2010, he was a finalist in the Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism.

The 2013 Excellence in Financial Journalism winners include:


Kirsten Grind, Simon & Schuster, “The Lost Bank: The Story of Washington Mutual – The Biggest Bank Failure in American History”

Print and Online

Trade– News/Investigative: David A. Kaplan, Fortune, “Hostess Is Bankrupt…Again

Trade– Features: Roger Parloff, Fortune, “The All-American Con Man

Trade – Opinion: Rob Cox and Robert Cyran, Reuters Breakingviews, “HP Breakup Is on Tech World’s 2013 Agenda”

Consumer – News/Investigative: David Evans, Bloomberg News, “Duping the Donors

Consumer – Features: David Voreacos, Bloomberg News, “Inside Insider Trading

Consumer – Opinion: Susan Antilla, Bloomberg View


Segment Running More than 10 Minutes: Brian Ross, Rhonda Schwartz, Matthew Mosk and Megan Chuchmach, ABC News, “The Money Trail 2012


Segment Running 10 Minutes or Less: Carole Zimmer, Mark Mills and Al Mayers, WBBR Bloomberg Radio, “Space Exploration Goes Private

Segment Running More than 10 Minutes: Carole Zimmer, Mark Mills and Al Mayers, WBBR Bloomberg Radio, “Postponement Generation Grows Up

The judges for the 2013 Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards included members of the New York Financial Writers Association – Stephen Foley, Financial Times; Barry Rehfeld, Susan Rodetis, Leah Spiro, Riverside Creative Management, Inc.; Richard Wilner, New York Post; and Terry Wooten, Crosstie Media Services; and the New York State Society of CPAs – Rumbidzai N. Bwerinofa, CPA, CFE; Brian A. Caswell, CPA; Elliot L.Hendler, CPA; Cynthia L. Krom, CPA. PhD.; George I. Victor, CPA; Alan E. Weiner, CPA, JD, LL.M.

The New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants is the nation’s oldest professional accounting association for more than 28,000 CPA members who practice and reside in New York State; encompassing all areas of public practice, government, education, business, and industry. Visit for more information.