The shortlist for The Alice Awards has been announced. The Alice Award is sponsored annually by Furthermore Grants in Publishing, a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund. The organization awarded the Alice receives $25,000 and those on the shortlist each receive $5,000.Winners will be announced on September 5 on the Furthermore website and presented in the Rare Book Room at the Strand Book Store on Tuesday, October 24, 2023.
Wendy Red Star: Delegation
Edited by Brendan Embser and designed by Emily CM Anderson. Co-published by Aperture and Documentary Arts.
Chrysler Museum of Art
Black Orpheus: Jacob Lawrence and The Mbari Club
Edited by Kimberli Gant and Ndubuisi Ezeluomba and designed by Margaret Ann Bauer. Published by Yale University Press in association with The Chrysler Museum and the New Orleans Museum of Art.
J. Paul Getty Trust
Flesh and Bones: The Art of Anatomy
Authored by Monique Kornell with contributions by Thisbe Gensler, Naoko Takahatake, and Erin Travers and designed by Kurt Hauser. Published by the Getty Research Institute.
Jewish Museum
New York: 1962-1964
Conceived by Germano Celant, edited by Sam Sackeroff, and designed by Michael Rock. Co-published by The Jewish Museum and Skira Editore.
University of Michigan Press
Cinema Ann Arbor: How Campus Rebels Forged a Singular Film Culture
Authored by Frank Uhle and designed by Ann Arbor District Library, Fifth Avenue Press. Published by the University of Michigan Press and Fifth Avenue Press.
This will be the 11th year of the Alice Award which was founded by Joan K. Davidson in 2013. When the award is presented this year, $385,000 will have been contributed to institutions in support of well-illustrated and beautifully crafted publications.