Erase Me by Margaret Atwood

Erase Me
Episode Three in the Positron Series

by Margaret Atwood
(Byliner, December 2012)

Margaret Atwood, internationally bestselling author, on her series Positron
Margaret Atwood



An exclusive Authorlink AUDIO interview with Margaret Atwood 

Internationally bestselling author on her latest series, Positron

February 2013 Authorlink Edition

Margaret Atwood

Play 19-minute audio interview
(File could take a minute to load)

When the impulse to love collides with the animal instinct to survive, who (or what) will remain? Internationally bestselling author Margaret Atwood explores the theme in Erase Me, third installment in her dark comedic e-book series, Poistron. In this audio interview, Margaret talks with Authorlink about the motivation behind the series, the challenges of writing, and about her life as a legendary storyteller. Aspiring writers might be surprised to learn how many times the bestselling author rewrites her stories before publication..

Atwood's current episode takes a dark turn when husband and wife are set against one another as part of a larger plot against the strange environment in which they live.

Stan and Charmaine should have known better when they signed up for Consilience, a social experiment in which lawful citizens are locked up, while, beyond the gates, criminals wander the wasted streets of America.

The couple understand that to break the rules in so strictly regimented a place is dangerous; but, driven by boredom and lust, they do it anyway and betray each other and the system. Stan finds himself the sexual plaything of a subversive member of the Consilience security team and in no time is made a pawn in a shadowy scheme to bring Consilience crashing down.

Meanwhile, his wife, Charmaine, is being held indefinitely at Positron Prison for her own sins. How far she’ll go to regain her good name and position is anyone’s guess, especially Stan’s.

In Erase Me, it’s every man—and woman—for him or herself. Erotically charged, morally complex, wickedly funny, and hailed as “shockingly believable” by The Globe and Mail, Atwood’s Positron stories remind us that when a totalitarian state gets its grip on the human heart, marriage can be murder.

About the Author: Margaret Atwood is the author of the internationally bestselling novel The Handmaid’s Tale as well as forty other books of fiction and nonfiction, including The Blind Assassin, Oryx and Crake, and The Year of the Flood. Her most recent collection of stories is Moral Disorder. She has written about utopias and dystopias in In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imagination. Atwood was awarded the Booker Prize in 2000 for The Blind Assassin.

About Byliner: Byliner commissions and publishes original stories written to be read in two hours or less. These “e-short” stories are available on phone, tablet, or computer as part of the Byliner subscription service, and can also be purchased individually through digital bookstores such as Amazon, Apple’s iBookstore, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and Google Play.

–Doris Booth