The Alice Book Prize Short List Announced
Alphawood Foundation (Chicago, IL)
Reconstructing the Garrick: Adler & Sullivan’s Lost Masterpiece
Edited by John Vinci with Tim Samuelson, Eric Nordstrom, and Chris Ware. Designed by Studio Blue.
The Art Institute of Chicago (Chicago, IL)
Ray Johnson c/o
Edited by Caitlin Haskell with Jordan Carter. Designed by Irma Boom.
The Cleveland Museum of Art (Cleveland, OH)
Private Lives: Home and Family in the Art of the Nabis, Paris, 1889-1900
By Mary Weaver Chapin and Heather Lemonedes Brown. Designed by Tom Barnard.
The Museum of Modern Art (New York, NY)
Sophie Taeuber-Arp:
Living Abstraction
Edited by Anne Umland and Walburga Krupp with Charlotte Healy. Designed by Mark Nelson/McCall Associates.
Pioneer Works Art Foundation (Brooklyn, NY)
Pòtoprens: The Urban Artists
of Port-au-Prince
Edited by Leah Gordon and Joshua Jelly-Schapiro. Designed by Daniel Kent and Jesse Johanning.
Ian Wardropper, Director of the Frick Collection and Chair of the Alice jury, commented: “The short listed Alice books are selected by a jury of individuals who are involved in all aspects of creating, designing, and publishing these books. The Alice stands out as a unique award, one of just a few that support the well-illustrated and well-made book. The Alice is a tribute to Joan Davidson’s passion and love of books and a tribute to her mother, Alice Kaplan.”
2022 Alice Jury
Chair: Ian Wardropper, Director, The Frick Collection
Chair Emeritus: Jock Reynolds, Former Director, Yale University Art Gallery
R. O. Blechman, Illustrator
Teresa A. Carbone, Program Director for American Art, Henry Luce Foundation
David R. Godine, Publisher
William P. Kelly, Andrew W. Mellon Director Emeritus, Research Libraries,
   New York Public Library
Max Rudin, President & Publisher, The Library of America
Pauline Willis, Director and CEO, American Federation of Arts
The Alice Award is sponsored annually by Furthermore grants in publishing, a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund. The organization awarded the Alice receives $25,000 and those on the short list each receive $5,000.
This will be the 10th year of the Alice Award which was founded by Joan K. Davidson in 2013. When the award is presented this year, $340,000 will have been contributed to institutions in support of well- illustrated and beautifully crafted publications.
The Alice will be announced September 15 on the Furthermore website and presented in the Rare Book Room at the Strand Book Store on Monday, October 24, 2022.