July 17 – July 24, 2008 Edition

NAIBA to Honor
Indy Publisher
Morgan Entrekin

NEW YORK, NY/7/16/08–Morgan Entrekin, president and publisher of Grove/Atlantic, Inc., has been named the 2008 recipient of the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association Legacy Award, according to Shelf Awareness.

NAIBA’s board of directors called Entrekin “the embodiment of true spirit of independent bookselling. In an age dominated by media hype, quick celebrity bios, and fluff volumes driven by popular culture, Morgan has been an individual that has placed purposeful meaning above money, and quality content ahead of all other considerations. And not unlike those independent booksellers in the community that he has so passionately served, Morgan Entrekin has taken risks, suffered setbacks, cherished the power of the printed word, valued the reader, and soldiered onward. The world of literature is a much brighter, richer, and varied place because of his presence.”

Entrekin will be honored for his achievements on September 21, at an awards banquet during NAIBA’s Fall Conference in Cherry Hill, N.J.

Entrekin is a graduate of Montgomery Bell Academy, Stanford University and the Radcliffe Publishing Course. He began his career at Delacorte Press. In 1982 he moved to Simon & Schuster. In 1984, he started his own imprint at Atlantic Monthly Press. In 1993 he merged this company with Grove Press to create Grove/Atlantic Inc

Grove/Atlantic, Inc. is one of America’s oldest independent literary publishing houses. Merged in February 1993, its two imprints, Atlantic Monthly Press, founded in 1917, and Grove Press, founded in 1951, have over the last 90 years published thousands of titles that have made an important contribution to American and world culture. The books (from Goodbye, Mr. Chips to Cold Mountain, Black Hawk Down, and The Inheritance of Loss) and authors (from Samuel Eliot Morrison to Samuel Beckett, Harold Pinter, and Sherman Alexie) have won every major award, including more than 20 Pulitzer Prizes, numerous National Book Awards and eight Nobel Prizes for Literature.