February 22- March 1, 2007 Edition

Bram Stoker Awards

Committee Picks

Shortlist Authors

2/19/07–The Horror Writers Association Sunday, February 18 announced its shortlist for the coveted Bram Stocker Awards. Mark Worthen and Hank Schwaeble, Stoker Awards Committee co-chairs, revealed the final ballot for the 2006 honors.

The 20th annual 2007 HWA Annual Stoker Banquet, to be held on March 31, will be a highlight of the World Horror Convention, March 29-April 1 in the Toronto Marriott Eaton Centre in Toronto, Ontario.

The shortlist candidates include:

Superior Achievement in a NOVEL

Headstone City by Tom Piccirilli (Bantam) Liseys Story by Stephen King (Scribner) Ghost Road Blues by Jonathan Maberry (Pinnacle) Pressure by Jeff Strand (Earthling) Prodigal Blues by Gary A. Braunbeck (Cemetery Dance)

Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL

Ghost Road Blues by Jonathan Maberry (Pinnacle) The Keeper by Sarah Langan (William Morrow) Bloodstone by Nate Kenyon (Five Star) The Harrowing by Alexandra Sokoloff (St. Martins)

Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION Dark Harvest by Norman Partridge (Cemetery Dance) Hallucigenia by Laird Barron (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction) Mamas Boy by Fran Friel (Insidious Reflections) Bloodstained Oz by Christopher Golden and James A. Moore (Earthling Publications) Clubland Heroes by Kim Newman (Retro Pub Tales)

Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION Tested by Lisa Morton (Cemetery Dance) Balance by Gene ONeill (Cemetery Dance) Feeding the Dead Inside by Yvonne Navarro (Mondo Zombie) FYI by Mort Castle (Masques V) “31/10” by Stephen Volk Dark Corners)

Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY

Aegri Somnia: The Apex Featured Writer Anthology edited by Jason Sizemore (Apex) Mondo Zombie edited by John Skipp (Cemetery Dance) Retro Pulp Tales edited by Joe Lansdale (Subterranean) Alone on the Darkside edited by John Pelan (Roc)

Superior Achievement in a COLLECTION

Destinations Unknown by Gary Braunbeck (Cemetery Dance) American Morons by Glen Hirshberg (Earthling Publications) The Commandments by Angeline Hawkes (Nocturne Press) The Empire of Ice Cream by Jeffrey Ford (Golden Gryphon) Basic Black: Tales of Appropriate Fear by TerryDowling (Cemetery Dance)

Superior Achievement in NONFICTION

Final Exits: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of How WeDie by Michael Largo (Harper) Cinema Macabre edited by Mark Morris (PS Publishing) Gospel of the Living Dead: George Romero’s vision of Hell on Earth by Kim Paffenroth (Baylor Press) Stephen King: Uncollected, Unpublished by Rocky Wood (Cemetery Dance)

Superior Achievement in POETRY

Shades Fantastic by Bruce Boston (Gromagon Press) Valentine: Short Love Poems by Corrine de Winter (Black Arrow Press) The Troublesome Amputee by John Edward Lawson (Raw Dog Screaming Press) Songs of a Sorceress by Bobbi Sinha-Morey (Write Words, Inc.)

Previous winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award include Stephen King and Anne Rice. Most recent Lifetime Achievement Award winner Peter Straub attended the 2006 Awards presentation in New York City, and is set to be one of the many horror celebrities also attending the 2007 event.