Announcing the Winners of the 2023 National Book Awards

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2023 National Book Award for Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature, who were named at tonight’s 74th National Book Awards Ceremony!

You can rewatch the Ceremony in its entirety on the Foundation’s Awards website, Facebook, and YouTube. For more information on the National Book Awards and the National Book Foundation’s year-round educational and public programming, visit the website



by Justin Torres

Farrar, Straus and Giroux / Macmillan Publishers


The Rediscovery of America: Native Peoples and the Unmaking of

by Ned Blackhawk U.S. History

Yale University Press


from unincorporated territory [åmot]

by Craig Santos Perez

Omnidawn Publishing

Translated Literature

The Words That Remain

by Stênio Gardel, Translated from the Portuguese by Bruna Dantas Lobato
New Vessel Press

Young People’s Literature

A First Time for Everything

by Dan Santat

First Second / Macmillan Publishers

In addition to announcing the National Book Award Winners, the Ceremony & Benefit Dinner drives funding for the Foundation’s year-round educational and public programming. We hope that you consider making a donation to support our work to spread the joy of books to all communities.