Nobel Literature Prize To be Announced By Webcast Oct. 9

October 9, 2008
Written by

Explore More

October 9 – 16, 2008 Edition Nobel Literature Prize
To be Announced
By Webcast Oct. 9

STOCKHOLM, Sweden (Authorlink, Oct. 9/2008)–The Noble Prize in Literature for 2008–the highest honor for a writer–will be announced by the Swedish Academy during a webcast on October 9 at 1 p.m. CET, 11:00 a.m. GMT, at the earliest. Following the announcement, an interview will be held with Horace Engdahl, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, about the 2008 Nobel Laureate in Literature. The Academy isn’t giving any hints about its selection for the award, which can be watched in the webcast (links below).

This is the last in a series of Nobel prizes this year. The winner is always presented by permanent secretary Horace Engdahl at the academy’s18th century offices in Stockholm’s Old Town.

According to the Associated Press, the secretive academy is not revealing any hints about its selection for the award, but British betting firm Ladbrokes gives Italian writer Claudio Magris and Syrian poet Adonis the lowest odds for this year’s prize.

Engdahl, in an interview with The Associated Press earlier this week, said “Of course there is powerful literature in all big cultures, but you can’t get away from the fact that Europe still is the center of the literary world … not the United States.”  The comment drew strong reactions from the U.S. where the head of the U.S. National book Foundation offered to send Engdahl a reading list of American literature.  The Academy insisted that nationality doesn’t matter when it makes its pick.

Among previous American writers to win the prize have been Toni Morrison in 1993. Americans Philip Roth and Joyce Carol Oates. Last year’s literature award went to British writer Doris Lessing.

Each Nobel Prize includes a 10 million kronor ($1.3 million) purse, a gold medal and a diploma. The awards are handed out Dec. 10, the anniversary of prize founder Alfred Nobel’s death in 1896.

The Nobel Prize announcements start Monday with the award in medicine. The winners of the prizes in physics, chemistry and peace will also be presented next week, while the economics award will be announced on Oct. 13.

Watch the live webcast announcement at Watch the live webcast with Windows Media Player! » or Watch the live webcast with multicast! » Links not active until 30 minutes before announcement time.

Categorised in:

This post was written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *