March 15 – 31, 2005 Awards

March 15, 2005
Written by

Explore More

Publishing News


March 15-31, 2005 Edition AWARDS Dalton, Smith

Win B&N Discover

Great Writers Awards

NEW YORK, NY, 03/02/05—Barnes & Noble Inc. (NYSE: BKS), the nation’s largest bookseller, has named John Dalton’s impressive first novel, Heaven Lake (Scribner), and Alison Smith’s emotionally searing memoir, Name All the Animals (Scribner), the winners of the twelfth annual “Discover Great New Writers Awards” for fiction and nonfiction, respectively.

They were each awarded cash prizes of $10,000, and a full year of additional marketing and advertising support. T

Two panels of literary jurists also selected two additional fiction and nonfiction writers for prizes. Michelle de Kretser’s second novel, The Hamilton Case (Little, Brown), and Suketu Mehta’s historical work, Maximum City (Knopf), took second place in fiction and nonfiction, respectively, and each received $2,500. M.J. Hyland’s first novel, How the Light Gets In (Canongate), and Edward Conlon’s sociological look at the New York City Police Department, Blue Blood (Riverhead), received third-place honors with a $1,000 prize for each.

All six finalists received engraved crystal awards from Tiffany & Co. The awards were presented this afternoon at a private ceremony, and the winners and finalists will read from their work tonight, March 2, at 7:00 p.m. at the Barnes & Noble store on Union Square in New York City, located at 33 East 17th Street (between Broadway and Park Avenue South).

Three distinguished novelists—Mark Dunn, Karen Joy Fowler and Meg Wolitzer—formed the jury panel for this year’s fiction awards. Mark Dunn’s first novel, Ella Minnow Pea, was selected for the Discover program in 2001. His latest effort, Zounds!: A Browser’s Dictionary of Interjections, was published this month. Karen Joy Fowler’s novel, Sarah Canary, was tapped for the Discover program in 1994. Her most recent work, The Jane Austen Book Club, was a New York Times bestseller. Meg Wolitzer is the author of Surrender, Dorothy and The Wife. Her new novel, The Position, will be published later this month.

Heaven Lake, John Dalton’s debut novel, follows a young American missionary in Taiwan whose trip takes an unexpected turn. Fiction jurist Mark Dunn offered the following comment on the prizewinner: “John Dalton examines the nature of love and faith as he takes his protagonist on a long, scenic journey into the heart of modern China. Graceful and evocative… Dalton’s prose establishes his credentials as a first-rate storyteller, and as an equally gifted translator of the language of the fragile human soul.”

The judges for the nonfiction award included writer Witold Rybczynski, whose early work, The Most Beautiful House in the World, was chosen for the Discover program in 1990. Esmeralda Santiago’s memoir, When I Was Puerto Rican, the first in an autobiographical trilogy, was also selected for the Discover program in 1993. The final volume in the trilogy, The Turkish Lover, was published last year. Amy Stewart’s gardening memoir, From the Ground Up, was a Discover selection in 2001. Her latest work, The Earth Moved, was published last year.

Name All the Animals is Alison Smith’s tragic memoir of a family torn apart by the death of a teenaged son. Ms. Santiago said of the book, “From the startling first image of a house ripped in half, to the final joyful flag waving a simultaneous welcome and goodbye, Alison Smith invites us into a world we could never imagine existed in Rochester, New York. Grief takes many forms in this beautifully told story, but there are moments of …humor and wonder. … Name All the Animals is a stunning memoir about love, grief, the end of childhood, and the beginning of a gifted writer’s artistic life.”

The 2004 Discover Awards honor the works of exceptionally talented writers featured in the Barnes & Noble “Discover Great New Writers” program during the 2004 calendar year. Last year, the Discover Great New Writers program featured the work of 70 previously unheralded fiction and non-fiction writers. The 2004 prize-winning authors join the ranks of an extraordinary group of writers, including last year’s winners, Monica Ali for her first novel, Brick Lane; and Jay Griffiths’ for her psychological look at something always in short supply, A Sideways Look at Time. Other Discover Award winners include Anthony Doerr, Hampton Sides, Tracy Chevalier, David Guterson, and Chang-rae Lee.

About Barnes & Noble, Inc.

Barnes & Noble, Inc. (NYSE: BKS), the world’s largest bookseller and a Fortune 500 company, operates 839 bookstores in 50 states. For the third year in a row, the company is the nation’s top retail brand for quality, according to the EquiTrend® Brand Study by Harris Interactive®. Barnes & Noble conducts its online business through Barnes & (, one of the Web’s largest e-commerce sites and the number-one brand among e-commerce companies, according to the latest EquiTrend survey. In addition to its retail operations, Barnes & Noble is one of the largest book publishers in the world. Its subsidiary, Sterling Publishing, publishes over 1,100 new titles a year and has an active list of over 5,000 titles.

General information on Barnes & Noble, Inc. can be obtained via the Internet by visiting the company’s corporate Web site: Soldiers of Light

Earns Freedom

of Expression Award

NEW YORK, NY/3/04/05—Daniel Bergner has received the best book award from the Index on Censorship Freedom of Expression for his book, Soldiers of Light. The book is a moving account of everyday life in Sierra Leone in the aftermath of what was arguably Africa’s most sadistic civil war. The awards ceremony took place March 3.

In 10 years of civil war Sierra Leone has experienced unimaginable violence and suffering. Journalist Daniel Bergner records the experience of the next generation as they look to the future, and the human faces behind the UN statistics.

The judges were: Observer journalist Jason Burke, human rights lawyer Helena Kennedy QC, novelist Hari Kunzru, actor Bill Nighy, educationalist Christopher Woodhead and Index patrons Caroline Moorehead and Geoffrey Hosking.

The award honors freedom of expression through literature. Five finalists were eventually selected for their remarkable stories—some of them shocking, all of them deeply moving—and for the quality of writing, said Index on Censorship chief executive Ursula Owen.

Other finalists were: The Stone Fields: Courtney Angela Brkic. Twenty-three-year-old forensic archaeologist Courtney Brkic – whose father is Croatian – describes the gruesome task of excavating mass grave sites in eastern Bosnia and transcribing the testimonies of survivors. Secret Histories: Emma Larkin. Burma is ruled by one of the oldest and most brutal military dictatorships in the world. Larkin journeys to this hidden country, talking to its people and retracing the places Orwell lived when he worked in the imperial police force. Burned Alive: Souad. The true story of Souad, one of six girls born into a village family in the West Bank. At 17, when Souad’s family found out she was pregnant, her brother in law attempted to burn her alive and her mother tried to poison her. Guantanamo: David Rose. The first book published in the UK about the US detention camp at Guantanamo Bay, written by one of the few journalists to be allowed access. It includes interviews with British detainees and new information from key US intelligence figures

For more information on the award visit:

Please follow and like us:
Tweet 14k

Categorised in:

This post was written by Doris

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *