Help us celebrate the individuals and companies leading industry innovation and achievement 

Nominations from BISG members are now open for the 2014 BISG Annual Industry Awards, which will be presented at the Annual Meeting of Members on September 19, 2014 in New York City.  

The awards honor individuals and companies whose contributions and outstanding achievements in all areas of the publishing ecosystem best reflect BISG’s mission of facilitating member-sourced solutions for the benefit of the entire industry. The award categories are:

1.     Innovation Award: For the company or individual who boldly reimagines what publishing is and can be. Members, please submit your nominations here.

2.     Industry Champion: In recognition of an individual whose efforts have gone beyond the requirements of his or her position to advance the publishing industry while embracing BISG’s mission. Members, please submit your nominations here.

3.     Most Valuable BISG Volunteer: In recognition of the recipient’s commitment to solve industry challenges and find new opportunities by working collaboratively with industry peers over the previous year.

4.     BISG Lifetime Service Award: In recognition of an individual’s outstanding work on behalf of BISG over the course of a career.

Nominations for the first two awards are due at the close of the business day on Friday, July 18. Please nominate your candidates now for the Innovation and Industry Champion Awards.

A jury consisting of industry leaders will review the nominations and select short lists and final winners. The jury will also select the recipient of the Lifetime Service Award and, with BISG staff, will nominate candidates and select the Most Valuable BISG Volunteer. Award short lists will be announced in August.

Executive Director Len Vlahos said “The BISG Annual Industry Awards celebrate the possibilities of publishing today and honor the many individuals who are driving its response to a shifting landscape for the benefit of readers and writers. We look forward to celebrating our 2014 nominees and their achievements and we ask for your participation.”

The jury members are Peter Balis (Wiley), Angela Bole (IBPA), Sally Dedecker (Sally Dedecker Enterprises), Kelly Gallagher (Ingram Content Group), Ashleigh Gardner (Wattpad), Kristen McLean (Bookigee), Kat Meyer (Frankfurt Book Fair), and Rob Weisstuch (HarperCollins).

BISG’s Annual Meeting of Members will be held on Friday, September 19, 2014 in New York City, from 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

The 2014 BISG Annual Industry Awards builds on the success of the inagural 2013 Awards; a complete list is available here.

Any employee of a member company many submit nominations. Click here for a complete list of BISG members. For more information, please contact Jeanette Zwart at

About the Book Industry Study Group, Inc.: The Book Industry Study Group, Inc. (BISG) is the book industry’s leading trade association for standards, education, and research. The mission of BISG is to facilitate innovation and shared solutions for the benefit of all companies and practitioners who create, produce, and distribute published content, and the organizations that support them. Membership consists of publishers, manufacturers, suppliers, wholesalers, retailers, librarians, and others engaged in the business of print and electronic media. For over 35 years, BISG has provided a forum for all industry professionals to come together and efficiently address issues and concerns to advance the book community. Learn more about BISG at