Publishing News


March 16-31, 2004 Edition AWARDS National Book Critics

Name Award Winners

at March 4 Banquet

NEW YORK/NY/03/01/04—The National Book Critics Circle named its 2003 award winners March 4 at a dinner in New York City.

The current winners in five categories are:

Fiction: Edward P. Jones, THE KNOWN WORLD Nonfiction: Paul Hendrickson, SONS OF MISSISSIPPI Biography: William Taubman, KHRUSHCHEV: The Man and His Era Criticism: Rebecca Solnit, RIVER OF SHADOWS: Edward Muybridge and the Technological Wild West Poetry: Susan Stewart, COLUMBARIUM

The National Book Critics Circle, founded in 1974, consists of nearly 700 active book reviewers who are interested in honoring quality writing and communicating with one another about common concerns. The centerpiece of NBCC activities is the annual awards for the best book in each of the five categories.