SYRACUSE, NY/April 10, 2013–Syracuse University's S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today announced the finalists in the 2013 Mirror Awards competition honoring excellence in media industry reporting. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on June 5, in New York City.

The finalists, chosen from a pool of over 300 entries by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Best Single Article – Traditional/Legacy Media

Ken Auletta, "Citizens Jain," The New Yorker Jeff Bercovici, "The Next Media Jackpot: The Fight For The $1 Trillion Hispanic Market," Forbes Joe Hagan, "Truth or Consequences," Texas Monthly Tara Murtha, "How Two Photojournalists Are Taking on the City's Gun Crisis," Philadelphia Weekly Chris Robbins, "An udder mess: How the Atlantic got it all wrong in St. Lawrence County," Watertown Daily Times John Seabrook, "Streaming Dreams," The New Yorker

Best Single Article – Digital Media

Michael Calderone, "At The 2012 Conventions, 15,000 Journalists Search For A Story," Huffington Post Joe Eskenazi, "Top 5 Ways Bleacher Report Rules the World!," SF Weekly Hugh Hart, "Fast-Frame Hobbit Dangles Prospect of Superior Cinema, But Will Theaters Bite?," Wired Adrienne LaFrance, "How to make your journalism project succeed on Kickstarter," Nieman Journalism Lab Bret Schulte, "'This is my paper. This is my town'," Columbia Journalism Review Joe Strupp, "How A Right-Wing Group Is Infiltrating State News Coverage," MediaMatters

Best Single Story – Radio, TV, Broadcast, Online

Bob Garfield & On The Media Staff, "First And Worst," On The Media Bob Garfield & On The Media Staff, "May I Use This Quote?," On The Media Brooke Gladstone & On The Media Staff, "Checking In On Fact Checking," On The Media Doug Crews, Beth Pike, Stephen Hudnell & Scott Charton, "Deadline in Disaster," Missouri Press Association Sarah Richards, "Voices for Sale or Rent: Election Ads," Canadian Broadcast Corporation

Best Profile – Traditional/Legacy or Digital Media

Adrian Chen, "Unmasking Reddit's Violentacrez, The Biggest Troll on the Web," Gawker Clyde Haberman, "Arthur O. Sulzberger, Publisher Who Transformed The Times for New Era, Dies at 86," The New York Times Adam McCauley, "Overexposed: A Photographer's War With PTSD," The Atlantic Richard Rys, "Little Boy Lost," Philadelphia Magazine Michael Shapiro, "Six degrees of aggregation: How The Huffington Post ate the Internet," Columbia Journalism Review

Best Commentary – Traditional/Legacy Media

Eric Alterman, "The Mainstream Media's Trivial Pursuit of Campaign 2012," "Shut Up About the Jews Already…," "The Washington Post's Problem," The Nation Syed Irfan Ashraf, "Hard times for journalists," "The face of confidence," "Military-media relationship," Dawn, Pique James Poniewozik, "Check, Please," "Stealing the Shows," "Truth Vigilantes, Attack!," Time Magazine Rem Rieder, "Can CNN and Jeff Zucker revive Facts?," "Truth-Squadding Mission," "The 'Greater Truth' Defense," USA TODAY, American Journalism Review

Best Commentary – Digital Media

Eric Alterman, "Think Again: Bad News About the News," "Think Again: The Media and Climate Science: ADHD or Deliberate Deception?," "Think Again: The Mistaken Bias of The New York Times's Public Editor," American Progress Tom McGeveran, "Will someone please buy 'The Village Voice' back from Phoenix?," "Tina Brown's Newsweek 'takes a leap into the future,' which is oblivion," "The end of The Daily wasn't just about Rupert Murdoch's money," Capital NY Sara Morrison, "Appending Larry," "The limits of Internet research," "'Open' in the age of live-tweeting," Columbia Journalism Review Michael Moynihan, "Disinformation," "Racial Profiling," "Hitler on the Campaign Trail," Tablet Mag Craig Silverman, "'Confirmed' and 'sources' may not mean what you think they do on Twitter," "In real-time journalism, declaring what you won't report can be just as important as what you will," "False Paterno death reports highlight journalists' hunger for glory," Poynter

John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting

Jodi Enda, "Staying Alive," American Journalism Review Brooke Gladstone, Marianne McCune & Sarah Abdurrahman, "Mexican Media: Es Muy Complicado," On The Media Lee Hancock, "The Rape Was Not the Only Problem," The Ochberg Society Jonathan Stray, "Metrics, metrics everywhere: How do we measure the impact of journalism?," Nieman Journalism Lab

An awards ceremony will be held on Wednesday, June 5, from 11:45 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at Cipriani 42nd Street, 110 E. 42nd St., New York City. Registration is available online. Follow on Twitter at #Mirrors13.

Anne Sweeney, co-chair of Disney Media Networks and president of Disney/ABC Television Group, will be honored with the Fred Dressler Leadership Award. Noted statistician Nate Silver will be honored with the i3 award for impact, innovation and influence.

In addition, the school will honor late TV and radio personality Dick Clark '51 with the Lifetime Achievement Award. His widow, Kari Clark, and daughter, Cindy Clark '86, will attend the ceremony. Clark was an alumnus of Syracuse University.

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public's benefit.

For information about ticket and table sales for the ceremony, contact Jean Brooks at 315.443.5711 or For media inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at 315.443.2785 or