September 13 – September 20, 2007 Edition

McCarthy Wins

Quill Award

for Best Fiction

NEW YORK, NY/9/11/07– Cormac McCarthy has been named by the Quills Literacy Foundation as the best general fiction writer of the year for his book The Road (Knopf).

McCarthy, Nora Roberts, and Laura Lippman are among 19 Quill Book Award winners to be honored at a gala awards ceremony to be held October 22 at Frederick P. Rose Hall in Lincoln Center, New York. The ceremony will be hosted by NBC’s Ann Curry and Al Roker. Special guests will include Stephen Colbert, Tiki Barber, Tom Brokaw, Tina Brown and Marlo Thomas.

Other winners include Diane Setterfield, for The Thirteenth Tale, in the debut novel category; and the audio version of Harper Lee’s classic To Kill a Mockingbird, released earlier this year by HarperCollins’s Caedmon audio division.

The ceremony will then be televised on October 27 on NBC Universal Television Stations. Winners were chosen across general fiction and nonfiction categories, but the public is still encouraged to vote for the Book of the Year from the list of 19.

The Quills Literary Foundation and its awards program is supported by Reed Business Information and The NBC Universal Television Stations to inspire an energy and focus around the importance of reading.