Killer Nashville is looking for the best thriller, suspense, and mystery books of 2014 for the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award.

 Last year, more than 25 new and revered authors were honored with this prestigious award during the annual Killer Nashville Guest of Honor and Awards Banquet held at the Omni Nashville Hotel August 2124. Books published during 2013 were considered for this award.


As with previous years, authors have the opportunity to receive one of three major awards at [Killer Nashville __title__ Killer Nashville], a premier international conference for mystery, thriller, and crime fiction authors and fans. Among the awards given is the Silver Falchion, which honors the best books readily available to a North American audience in both fiction and nonfiction during a calendar year.


 Last year’s Silver Falchion award winners included authors Williams Kent Krueger, Jeffery Deaver, Maggie Toussaint, Sue Grafton and a host of others.


 Killer Nashville is now accepting submissions for the 2015 [Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award __title__ Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award].


 “We’re looking for the best of the best,” said Clay Stafford, founder of Killer Nashville.


 Last year’s winners were:


 Best Novel:


Cozy/Traditional Mystery – Maggie Toussaint, Dime if I Know;

Crime Thriller – Michael Sears, Mortal Bonds;

Historical – Anne Perry, Blind Justice;

Literary Mystery/Suspense/Thriller – William Kent Drueger, Ordinary Grace;

Political/Adventure/Espionage Thriller, Jeffery Deaver, The Kill Room;

Private Detective/Police Procedural/Mystery, Sue Grafton, “W” is for Wasted;

Romantic Suspense – Lisa Jackson, Tell Me;

Speculative/Horror/Science Fiction/Fantasy – Dean Koontz, Innocence;

Long-Form Novelty Fiction: Poetry/Graphic Novel/Experimental – Lee Child et al., Inherit the Dead;


Best First Novel:

Cozy / Traditional / and Historical – Dee Phelps, The Disappointment Room;

Literary Suspense – Jamie Mason, Three Graves Full;

Thriller / Mystery – Lisa Cutts, Never Forget;


Best Nonfiction:

Academic (Tie) – Charles J. Rzepka, Being Cool: The Work of Elmore Leonard; and Bruce Shaw, Jolly Good Detecting: Humor in English Crime Fiction of the Golden Age;

Craft and Business of Writing – Chuck Wendig, The Kick-Ass Writer

Mainstream Crime Reference – Brad Meltzer with Katie Ferrell, History Decoded: The 10 Greatest Conspiracies of All Time;

Memoir / Biography – Anne Serling, As I Knew Him: My Dad, Rod Serling;

True Crime – Judith Yates, The Devil You Know;


Best Children, Middle Grade, and Young Adult (YA)

Children’s Picture Book – Janice S. C. Petrie (Writer, Illustrator), Did You Make the Hole In the Shell In the Sea;

Children’s Chapter Book (Tie) – Annie Barrows (Writer), Sophie Blackall (Illustrator), Ivy + Bean Take the Case; and Lewis B. Montgomery (Writer), Amy Wummer – The Case of the Locked Box;

Middle Grade – Jessica Scott Kerrin,  The Spotted Dog Last Seen;

Young Adult – Elisa Nader, Escape from Eden;


Best Anthology, Collection, and Attending Author

Multi-Author Anthology – Mike Ashley (Editor), Sisters In Crime: Early Crime and Mystery Stories by Women;

Single-Author Collection – Barb Goffman, Don’t Get Mad, Get Even: 15 Tales of Revenge and More;

Attending Author – Don Bruns, Reel Stuff.


Publishers or authors may nominate a book for the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award at [www.KillerNashville.com__title__ Writers Conference].

 The deadline for author-direct submissions is March 1, 2015. From March 214, 2015, submissions will only be accepted from publishers.


 The annual Killer Nashville International Thriller, Mystery, and Crime Literature Writers’ Conference, was created in 2006 by author/filmmaker Clay Stafford to bring together forensic experts, writers, and fans of crime and thriller literature. The conference draws attendees from as far away as Portmahomack, Scotland; Rome, Italy; and Hadano, Kanagawa, Japan. For interviews or more information:,, 615-599-4032.