The American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) is happy to once again accept submissions for the Annual Writing Awards, honoring the outstanding nonfiction work produced on a freelance basis during the prior calendar year. ASJA is the professional association of independent nonfiction writers. Founded in 1948, its more than 1200 members have each met exacting standards of professional achievement.

 While most awards are available only to ASJA membership, two prestigious awards are open to the public: The Arlene Awards for Work that Makes a Difference and the Donald Robinson Award for Investigative Reporting.

 The Arlenes: Books and Articles that Make a Difference

ASJA member Howard Eisenberg established the Arlene Eisenberg Memorial Fund in honor of his late wife, the author of What to Expect When You’re Expecting and other bestselling books that made a difference in the lives of mothers worldwide. Income generated by the fund provides monetary awards to writers whose freelance article(s) and/or trade book(s) make a documented difference by inspiring action that has a positive impact on the community, society, or the world.

 Donald Robinson Memorial Award for Investigative Journalism Article

A bequest from Donald Robinson, the third president of ASJA, established the Donald Robinson Memorial Fund. This fund generates income to provide an annual monetary award to a writer who has published an article, produced on a freelance basis, which represents exceptional achievement in the field of investigative reporting or expose.

 For more information on the awards, you may visit

 The awards will be presented during the Annual ASJA Writers Conference, which is being held in New York City, April 30 – May 2

 Awards available only to membership include the Outstanding Book Awards, Outstanding Article Awards and the Founders Award for Career Achievement, presented to any ASJA member whose ability to tell a story and whose style, range and diversity of career exemplify the profession of independent nonfiction writer.

 Please visit for submission qualifications and procedures.