October 12 – October 26, 2006 Edition

International Thriller

Writers Association

Calls For Award Entries

The two-year-old burgeoning International Thriller Writers Association is now accepting submissions for their 2007 ITW Awards. Winners will be announced at the International Festival of Thrillers (July 12-July 15, 2007) at the Grand Hyatt Manhattan in New York, New York.

All novels published in the English language by a commercial publisher within the 2006 calendar year are eligible. Awards will be given in these categories: Best Novel, Best First Novel, Best Paperback Original, and Best Script/Screenplay. Deadline for publishers and authors to get copies of eligible works to the category judges is December 1, 2006, though entries can be published anytime during the 2006 calendar year.

Founded in October 2004 at a meeting of Bouchercon in Toronto, Canada, ITW has quickly risen as a formidable international organization for thriller writers. The group’s mission is to raise the prestige and profile of thrillers, to award prizes to outstanding thriller novels and authors, and to create opportunities for collegiality within the thriller community.

Submissions must have been published by a recognized commercial publisher. Any publisher or author may fill out ITW’s “Publisher Questionnaire,” seeking admission to the list of eligible publishers. Generally, to be a commercial publisher on ITW’s list, the publishing house must be a print publisher, pay advances and issue royalty statements, edit books, create covers, neither solicit nor accept financial payments from its authors, never copyright an author’s title under the publisher’s name, and never expect or ask authors to buy a certain number of copies of the author’s books.

Author who would like to be considered for an award category should contact his or her publisher and ensure copies reach each judge in that category. Publishers are requested to submit a title to only the most appropriate category of judging: Paperback novels are limited to the paperback judges, first novels to the first novel judges, etc.

For a list of judges’ addresses for each category, publishers should contact the ITW Award Chair, Alex Kava at The organization’s web site is at : .