January 24 – January 31, 2008 Edition

HarperOne Offers

Huston Smith Prize

For Best Religious Work

SAN FRANCISCO, CA/1/21/08–HarperOne, a division of HarperCollins, has established The Huston Smith Publishing Prize, to be awarded to one author each year, beginning with the year 2008, whose unpublished work best reflects the spirit of Huston Smith’s life’s work. The prize celebrates the 50th anniversary this year of the groundbreaking publication of The World’s Religions by renowned religion scholar Huston Smith.

Defined broadly, this will be a work of non-fiction written for a popular audience that promotes the cause of religious understanding in the world and its interface with culture. HarperOne will announce the winner of the Huston Smith Publishing Prize each year at the American Academy of Religion/Society of Biblical Literature Conference. The author winning the prize will enter into a publishing agreement with HarperOne and receive a $25,000 advance against royalty, subject to the terms of the publishing agreement.

Submissions for the 2008 Huston Smith Publishing Prize will be accepted from November 15, 2007 through March 1, 2008.

Huston Smith is internationally renowned as one of the most eloquent and accessible contemporary authorities on, and teacher of, the world’s religions. He is the author of The World’s Religions, a classic in the field, as well as The Soul of Christianity, Why Religion Matters, The Illustrated World’s Religions, Forgotten Truth, and the forthcoming Tales of Wonder. Smith has held faculty positions at Washington University, MIT, Syracuse, and the University of California, Berkeley. He has received numerous awards, including the Wilbur Award for Religious Communicators, and his books have sold more than 2.5 million copies in the United States. In 1996, Bill Moyers devoted a five-part PBS special to Smith’s life and work titled The Wisdom of Faith with Huston Smith.

Those who wish to apply for the prize can check details at .