The Sigurd Olson Environmental Institute is now accepting submissions for its 2016 Sigurd F. Olson Nature Writing Awards.

 A winning award is given to a published book that “captures the spirit of the human relationship with nature, and promotes the awareness, preservation, appreciation, or restoration of the natural world for future generations.”

 There will be one award given in three award categories: Children’s, Young Adult and Adult literature.


  • written for children up to age 12
  • Fiction or Non-Fiction

Young Adult

  • written for children age 13 – 21
  • Fiction or Non-Fiction


  • written for age 21 and above
  • Non-Fiction ONLY

 To be considered for an award, works must hold a 2015 copyright. Coffee table books, guidebooks, general reference books, anthologies (adult only) or textbooks will not be considered.

 A monetary award is given to the author. Winners will be announced on April 22, 2016.

Please submit 9 copies of each title to:


Jean Ayers Sigurd Olson

Environmental Institute Northland College

1411 Ellis Avenue

Ashland WI 54806