The Book Industry Study Group (BISG) is pleased to announce the winners of its inaugural Industry Awards, presented at its Annual Meeting of Members on September 27, 2013.

Winners in each category are:

·         Edelweiss (Above the Treeline) for the Industry Innovation Award  (presented to the individual or company whose innovation in tools or processes has contributed to removing friction between trading partners and resulted in more efficient and profitable relationships)

·         Laurie Stark, Vice President, Publishing Operations Support, Penguin-Random House, for Most Valuable Committee Participant  (presented to the BISG committee member who, in the previous year, has made the greatest contribution while reflecting BISG’s core principle of solving industry challenges and finding opportunities through its member-run committees)

·         Phil Madans, Director of Publishing Standards and Best Practices, Hachette Book Group USA, for the Friend of the Industry  (presented to an individual whose work over the past year has gone above and beyond the requirements of his or her position and has contributed to the functioning of the publishing value chain as a whole)

·         Allen Lau (Wattpad) for the Disruptor Award  (recognizes an individual and/or organization who fundamentally challenges what publishing is, and what it could be)

As previously announced, Wendell Lotz, Vice President, Metadata, Ingram Book Group, was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to an individual for outstanding work on behalf of BISG over the course of their career, via meeting input, service on the Executive Board, or committee work.

Len Vlahos, BISG Executive Director, said, "The winners of these awards demonstrate creativity, commitment, and passion for the industry across its full spectrum.  BISG is honored to work with all of our winners and nominees and we thank them for the work they do."

Ken Michaels, BISG's Chairman of the Board of Directors and Global COO for Macmillan Science and Education, said "BISG is built on the many hundreds of volunteers from across the publishing ecosystem that not only see the possibilities of publishing, but are also willing to take an active role in directing how to evolve to meet the shifting landscape to the benefit of consumers and authors.  Today, the industry came together to both hear and validate our collective vision and priorities and honor those award winners and nominees instrumental in our progress. Our sincere congratulations to these individuals on this well deserved recognition and to those entities that allow their representation to ensure the collective health of our industry".

The awards were presented at BISG's Annual Meeting of Members on September 27, 2013. A full listing of nominees and award descriptions is available here.  The sold-out event was BISG's most well-attended yet, attended by 200 people from all sectors of the industry.  It included a panel with some of the industry's most influential leaders on profiting from transformational change; a Keynote from Clive Thompson, author of Smarter Than You Think: How Technology is Changing Our Minds for the Better; and the unveiling of BISG's new mission statement.  For more information on the Annual Meeting of Members, click here.


 About the Book Industry Study Group, Inc.

The Book Industry Study Group, Inc. (BISG) is the book industry’s leading trade association for policy, standards, and research. Membership consists of publishers, manufacturers, suppliers, wholesalers, retailers, librarians, and others engaged in the business of print and electronic media. For over 35 years, BISG has provided a forum for all industry professionals to come together and efficiently address issues and concerns to advance the book community. Learn more about BISG at