March 4 – March 11, 2010 Edition

Book Council Announces Awards Finalists

NEW YORK, NY/AUTHORLINK NEWS/03/03/10–The Children’s Book Council (CBC) in association with Every Child a Reader, Inc. (the CBC Foundation), yesterday named 2009 finalists for the Third Annual Children’s Choice Book Awards. Suzanne Collins, Jeff Kinney, and James Patterson are among the favorite author choices. Favorite book choices include Jarrett Krosoczka’s Lunch Lady graphic novel and Gordon Korman’s Zoobreak.

The favorite book finalists were determined by close to 15,000 children and teens. Thousands more will be able to cast their votes for their favorite books, author, and illustrator at bookstores, schools, libraries, and at from March 15 to May 3.

The Children’s Choice Book Awards winners will be announced live at the Children’s Choice Book Awards gala on May 11 in New York City as part of Children’s Book Week (May 10-16, 2010), the oldest national literacy event in the United States.

This year’s Children’s Choice Book Award finalists are as follows:

Kindergarten to Second Grade Book of the Year

The Birthday Pet by Ellen Javernick, illustrated by Kevin O’Malley (Marshall Cavendish) Lulu the Big Little Chick by Paulette Bogan (Bloomsbury USA) Mouse Was Mad by Linda Urban, illustrated by Henry Cole (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) The Odd Egg by Emily Gravett (Simon & Schuster) Opposnakes by Salina Yoon (Little Simon/Simon & Schuster)

Third Grade to Fourth Grade Book of the Year

The Book That Eats People by John Perry, illustrated by Mark Fearing (Tricycle Press) Coretta Scott by Ntozake Shange, illustrated by Kadir Nelson (Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins) Gonzalo Grabs the Good Life by Janice Levy, illustrated by Bill Slavin (Eerdmans) Lunch Lady and the Cyborg Substitute by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Knopf/Random House) Oceanology by Ferdinand Zoticus deLessups (Candlewick)

Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year

The Adventures of Benny by Steve Shreve (Marshall Cavendish) Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life by Rachel Renee Russell (Aladdin/Simon & Schuster) Moonshot by Brian Floca (Atheneum/Richard Jackson/Simon & Schuster) Outlaw: The Legend of Robin Hood by Tony Lee, Sam Hart, and Artur Fujita (Candlewick) Zoobreak by Gordon Korman (Scholastic Press)

Teen Choice Book of the Year

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, Book 4) by Richelle Mead (Razorbill/Penguin) Blue Moon (The Immortals, Book 2) by Alyson Noel (St. Martin’s Griffin/Macmillan) Catching Fire (The Second Book of the Hunger Games) by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic Press) City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, Book 3) by Cassandra Clare (McElderry/Simon & Schuster) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic Press)

Author of the Year

Suzanne Collins for Catching Fire (The Second Book of the Hunger Games) (Scholastic Press) Carl Hiaasen for Scat (Knopf/Random House) Jeff Kinney for Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw and Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days (Amulet Books/Abrams) James Patterson for Max (A Maximum Ride Novel) (Little, Brown) Rick Riordan for The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Book 5) (Disney Hyperion)

Illustrator of the Year

Peter Brown for The Curious Garden (Little, Brown) Robin Preiss Glasser for Fancy Nancy: Explorer Extraordinaire! (HarperCollins) Victoria Kann for Goldilicious (HarperCollins) Susan Roth for Listen to the Wind (Dial/Penguin) David Soman for Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy (Dial/Penguin)

The finalists for Book of the Year in the Kindergarten to Second Grade, Third Grade to Fourth Grade, and Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade categories were the books that received the highest number of votes in the IRA-CBCChildren’s Choices program. This joint project of the International Reading Association (IRA) and the CBC began in 1975. Publishers submit hundreds of titles, all published in 2009, to be evaluated and voted on by approximately 12,500 children.

For the Teen Choice Book Award, the CBC and Every Child a Reader enlisted the help of to select the finalists. More than 3,000 teens voted for their favorite book of 2009 onthe TeenReads website, part of The Book Report Network. The five books that received the highest number of votes are finalists for the Teen Choice Book


The Author and Illustrator of the Year finalists were selected by the CBC and Every Child a Reader from a review of bestseller lists. Only authors and illustrators associated with books published in 2009 were considered.

The Children’s Choice Book Awards program, launched in 2008, was created to provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about the books being written for them and to help develop a reading list that will motivate children to read more and cultivate a love of reading.

About the Children’s Book Council

The Children’s Book Council, established in 1945, is the nonprofit trade association of publishers of trade books for children and young adults in the United States. The CBC promotes the use and enjoyment of trade books for young people. For more information, visit us at

About Every Child a Reader

Every Child a Reader, the CBC Foundation, is dedicated to supporting positive programs and opportunities that help promote the enjoyment and importance of reading among America’s youth. Every Child a Reader is the administrator of such impactful programs as the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature and Children’s Book Week. For more information, visit us at